Back to All Events

Bridge to the Future

Following the press conference announcing the launch of the Arkansas Future Caucus, Arkansas Future Caucus members Reps. Eddie Armstrong (D), Sarah Capp (R), James Sturch (R), and Clarke Tucker (D) joined MAP President and Co-Founder Steven Olikara at the Clinton School of Public Service for “Bridge to the Future,” a panel discussion about bridging the partisan divide through millennial leadership.

Introducing the panel, Olikara said, “These lawmakers have become part of a national movement. We’re thrilled to be at the Clinton School [...] to talk about what the next generation of leadership can look like in Arkansas and how we can govern in a way that represents our best ideals and aspirations. ”

The conversation, which included an audience Q&A, covered a number of topics, including next-generation policy issues like higher education and environmental policies, the impact of bipartisanship in Arkansas, and the opportunity for millennial leadership in the state.

The discussion was summed up by a question from an audience member, about advice for young people who are interested in running for office but hesitant to do so. All panelists agreed, “Just do it—run.”

Members of the Arkansas Future Caucus, led by its Co-Chairs Rep. Warwick Sabin and Rep. James Sturch, are committed to continuing the dialogue across the aisle to ensure that bipartisan solutions are found to the issues young Arkansans face.

Later Event: February 2
Unrig the System Summit