Release: Millennial Action Project Announces Representatives Kyrsten Sinema and Carlos Curbelo as New Co-Chairs of Congressional Future Caucus

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                            

May 23, 2017                                                                                                   

Contact: Julia Schechter(917) 282-2754

Millennial Action Project Announces Representatives Kyrsten Sinema and Carlos Curbelo as New Co-Chairs of Congressional Future Caucus

 MAP also introduces first-ever vice chairs, Representatives Mike Gallagher and Stephanie Murphy

(Washington, D.C.) Today, Millennial Action Project announced Representatives Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ 9th District) and Carlos Curbelo (R-FL 26th District) as the new co-chairs of the Congressional Future Caucus, the only bipartisan group of young legislators under age 45 in Congress focused on next generation leadership and policy issues. Additionally, Representatives Stephanie Murphy (D-FL 7th District) and Mike Gallagher (R-WI 8th District) will serve as the first-ever vice chairs of the caucus.

Sinema and Curbelo will lead the national movement of young elected officials breaking through partisan gridlock to reestablish political cooperation and create meaningful progress in government. The Congressional Future Caucus, our nation's first and only caucus for young members of Congress, has led to legislation addressing the issues millennials care about, including student loan debt relief, veterans’ employment,entrepreneurship, and more.


While there has been a great deal of attention directed at dysfunction and gridlock in government, there is a counter-movement underway–led by Millennials–that seeks to disrupt the status quo in government. Millennial Action Project and the Congressional Future Caucus plan to build on this movement to create momentum into the future and support legislators as they course a path of bipartisanship and cooperation. Led by Reps. Sinema and Curbelo, they will help to restore Millennials’ faith in government and activate a future generation of leaders.

“These leaders are countering the notion that Congress is no longer functional, and I can proudly say that the Future Caucus members give us hope for the well-being of our democratic institutions,” said Steven Olikara, President and Co-Founder of Millennial Action Project. “I’m excited to see what the Future Caucus will accomplish under the leadership of Reps. Sinema and Curbelo, and our new vice chairs, Reps. Gallagher and Murphy, as they reach across the aisle to collaborate on the issues that matter most to Millennials.”

"I'm excited to be co-chairing the Future Caucus with my friend and colleague Representative Sinema,” Representative Curbelo said. “I look forward to working together and building consensus on issues important to our generation and finding opportunities for legislative initiatives. We will do everything we can to make sure America’s youth is a priority in the 115th Congress."

“Millennials are post-partisan – they’re less worried about party labels and more interested in finding ways to work together and get things done,” said Representative Sinema. “In Washington, it’s often rare to acknowledge that differences are okay. It’s important to remember: we can work with people who are different than us, and we can be friends with people who are different than us. I look forward to continuing to work with Congressman Curbelo and the rest of the Congressional Future Caucus to strengthen our national security, tackle the national deficit, and help Americans succeed in the new economy.”

Media contact: Julia Schechter, (917) 282-2754 or

The Millennial Action Project (MAP) is a national, nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to activating young policymakers to bridge the partisan divide and lead a new era of collaborative governance. In 2013, MAP organized America’s first-ever bipartisan caucus for young members of Congress, the Congressional Future Caucus. Shaping the next generation of leadership, MAP's Future Caucus Network has expanded into nearly twenty state legislatures and grown into the largest nonpartisan organization of millennial elected officials in the U.S. Senators Olympia Snowe and Bill Bradley, as well as Governors Jennifer Granholm and Jon Huntsman Jr, serve on MAP’s Advisory Board. More info available