RELEASE: Young State Legislators From Across Country Launch Bipartisan Democracy Reform Task Force

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                            

Young State Legislators From Across Country Launch Bipartisan Democracy Reform Task Force

Democracy Reform Task Force to Advance Legislation on Redistricting, Government Accountability and Voting Access

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) Today, twelve young state legislators from across the country announced the creation of the Democracy Reform Task Force to advance legislation on redistricting, government accountability, and access to voting. The lawmakers, all leaders on the forefront of these issues, are reaching across state and party  lines with the goal of finding innovative solutions to government reform and sharing their findings with lawmakers across the nation. The representatives join Millennial Action Project’s (MAP) national effort to support young elected officials as they work to break through partisan gridlock and reestablish political cooperation on issues that millennials care about. 

“Partisan gridlock has caused millennials to lose trust in our government and civic institutions, and has caused them to check out of the political process,” said Steven Olikara, Founder and President of Millennial Action Project. “The Democracy Reform Task Force is made up of trailblazers who have shown they will prioritize progress over party. Working together, these young lawmakers will lead the nation in finding innovative, legislative solutions to make our government more accountable, transparent, and functional.

The Democracy Reform Task Force was born from MAP’s initiative to rebuild trust in our government in order to encourage civic engagement, particularly amongst younger generations. According to Harvard IOP's 2017 survey, 67 percent of Millennials are fearful of America's future, and just 14 percent believe our nation is headed in the right direction. However, a counter-movement is emerging – led by Millennials – that seeks to disrupt the status quo in government.

“Increasing access to government, accountability of elected officials, and increasing the ability of eligible voters to exercise that right shouldn’t be a partisan issue. I hope that the Democracy Reform Task Force will help states across the country bring more young voters into the fold and help boost our generation’s trust in government and our democracy,” said State Representative Amanda Stuck (D-Appleton, WI). 

"The task force’s policy goals of redistricting reform, access to voting and government accountability are important themes which help guide my own legislative agenda in the Illinois House of Representatives,” added State Representative David S. Olsen (R-Downers Grove, IL). “I look forward to working in a bipartisan fashion with other young lawmakers from across the nation to develop solutions that will make government work more effectively for all people.

A complete list of Democracy Reform Task Force members is below:  

  • Rep. Shevrin Jones (D-FL)
  • Rep. Warwick Sabin (D-AR)
  • Rep. Stephanie Clayton (R-KS)
  • Senator Frank LaRose (R-OH)
  • Rep. Amanda Stuck (D-WI)
  • Senator Art Linares (R-CT)
  • Rep. Caroline Simmons (D-CT)
  • Senator Stanley Chang (D-HI)
  • Rep. Chaz Beasley (D-NC)
  • Rep. Jonathan Brostoff (D-WI)
  • Rep. Michael Caldwell (R-GA)
  • Rep. David Olsen (R-IL)

The Task Force is a peer-to-peer sharing of ideas and not an endorsement of any particular reform.

Related Resources:

To interview Steven Olikara or any of the members please contact Julia Schechter, (917) 282-2754 or